About Mitten's

  • Mitten's Travel Center is open 24/7/365!
  • We are conveniently located just off Interstate 70, Exit 76, or if you prefer the scenic route, take US Highway 40/83. All roads lead to Mittens!
  • We feature a variety of food options, as well as plenty of high quality driver amenities including a walk-in Urgent Care Clinic.
  • Here at Mitten's Travel Center we are constantly striving to become better than yesterday. You can always expect to see some kind of ongoing project in the works to improve our family owned Travel Center of tomorrow.
  • We are dedicated to providing highway travelers including professional drivers and four wheel traffic as well as RV's with services that are unsurpassed in quality and convenience.
  • Thank you for your business!

Our Core Values

Family

Integrity

Ethics

Commitment

Respect

Appreciation

Honesty

Service Oriented

About our Founder

In 1966, Jim Mitten and his wife Estelene moved to Oakley and purchased LW Swart, Breckinridge trucking, and started Jim Mitten Trucking. Their bright red and green Mitten “Cow Taxi’s” were recognized all across Kansas! This move eventually led to them  purchasing the truck stop from Skelly Oil in 1967. Skelly came to Jim wanting to build a truck stop and needed somebody to run it. They wanted the image of “a truck stop operated by a trucker”. Within the first year they decided that wasn’t a business they wanted to be in and sold it to the Mittens and that’s where our family legacy began. Jim was always very proud that Mitten’s has been owned and operated by family for the last 46 years.

How Mittens was Formed

While the flag above the site has changed several times in the last forty years (Skelly, Texaco, Shell, TravelCenters of America) one thing has remained consistent, the ownership.  Jim’s daughters and their husbands joined the venture in the early years and today grandson Matt Mildenberger leads the company to provide service and hospitality to the tens of thousands of annual visitors. Jim‘s two daughters, Toni Johnson and Tami Bley along with their husbands joined the venture in the 70’s and today grandson Matt Mildenberger and wife Misty lead the company to provide exceptional service and hospitality to tens of thousands of annual visitors.

Podcast

Listen to Mitten's President Matt Mildenberger's conversation on "The Truck Stops Here" podcast

Get in touch

Matt Mildenberger

President

Matt Mildenberger

785-672-3062 ext. 16

mattm@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Darren Goetz

Vice President

Darren Goetz

785-672-3062 ext. 12

darreng@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Sharon Boyd

Accounts Receivable/Payable

Sharon Boyd

785-672-3062 ext. 21

sharonb@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Luke Ruggles

Bulk Fuel/Oil Manager

Luke Ruggles

785-672-3062 ext. 23, lucasr@mitteninc.com, or 308-737-9687

EmailCall

Kalyn Ritter

CFO

Kalyn Ritter

785-672-3062 ext. 11

kalynr@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Janice Herring

Convenience Store Manager

Janice Herring

785-672-4111

janiceh@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Janice Herring

Director of Fresh Food Operations

Janice Herring

785-672-4111

EmailCall

Rodney Haffner

Fuel & Lubricant Sales and Service

Rodney Haffner

785-673-3377

rodneyh@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Jeff Kuhlman

Fuel & Lubricants Administrator

Jeff Kuhlman

785-673-3162

jeffk@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Email or call for fuel desk services

Fuel Desk

Email or call for fuel desk services

785-672-4111

janiceh@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Melanie Hockersmith

Human Resources

Melanie Hockersmith

785-672-3062 ext. 22

melanier@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Hunt Brothers Pizza

785-672-4111

EmailCall

Dalton Keller

IT Administrator

Dalton Keller

785-953-0836

daltonk@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Call to schedule our board room or meeting room

Meeting Room Scheduling

Call to schedule our board room or meeting room

785-672-3062 ext 22

mittensmeetingroom@gmail.com

EmailCall

Ryan Jacques

Parts Manager

Ryan Jacques

785-953-0175

ryanj@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Aaron Cook

Shift Foreman

Aaron Cook

715-207-4122

EmailCall

Shop

785-672-3270

EmailCall

Brent Holzmeister

Shop Foreman

Brent Holzmeister

785-672-3270

EmailCall

Julian Albers

Shop Manager

Julian Albers

785-672-3270

EmailCall

Oscar Macias

Tire Manager

Oscar Macias

785-248-1888

oscarm@mitteninc.com

EmailCall

Urgent Care

785-672-1441

EmailCall